North Texas Commission Graduates Sixth Leadership North Texas Class

NORTH TEXAS – The North Texas Commission graduated the sixth class of Leadership North Texas presented by Oncor on Friday, May 15. Leadership North Texas is a graduate-level, regional leadership program designed to recruit, develop and support leaders who have a commitment to civic engagement and to the North Texas region.

The class of 29 leaders from throughout the region spent nine months learning best practices in regional stewardship, with discussion including education and workforce, regionalism, the North Texas economy, the impact on incarceration, sustainable development, healthcare and transportation.

“As one of the fastest growing large regions in the nation, North Texas needs leaders from all cities and counties along with stakeholder groups such as businesses, higher education institutions and non-profits working together to grow responsibly,” said Mabrie Jackson, president and CEO of the North Texas Commission. “Leadership North Texas brings these individuals from across our 12-county region together to form bonds that will last a lifetime.”

The graduates of Leadership North Texas Class 6 are the following:

Shannon Bettis, Senior Vice President, Southside Bank

Ellen Buck, Senior Director, Oncor Electric Delivery

Fred Busche, Councilmember, Town of Highland Village

Linda Caram, Regional Director, External Affairs, AT&T

Allen Corry, Assistant Vice President, DFW International Airport

Amanda DeGan, Assistant Town Manager, Town of Westlake

LaToyia Dennis, Director of Development, T.D. Jakes Ministries

Ariane Einecker, Regional Chief Development Officer, American Red Cross, North Texas Region

Mark Felts, Principal Consultant, Slalom

Joy Goodrum, Executive Director, La Buena Vida Youth Leadership Foundation

Dr. Sheila Haley, Assistant Clinical Professor, Texas Woman’s University

Susan Harris, Manager, Public Affairs, Atmos Energy

Tricia Hatley, Vice President, Freese and Nichols

Victoria Huyhn, Deputy City Attorney, City of Plano

Dena Jackson, Ph.D., Vice President of Grants and Research, Dallas Women’s Foundation


Mark Jacobs, Team Leader, Regions Bank

Lori McMahon, Deputy Chief of Staff for U.S. Congressman Sam Johnson

Steve Mitchell, Project Manager, Thomson Reuters and Richardson City Councilmember

Jonathan Morrison, Operations Manager, Morrison & Company

Greg Porter, City Manager, City of Cedar Hill

Eddie Reyes, Veteran, Women & Minority Business Consultant

Michelle Riddell, Vice President of Strategic Communications and Community Investment, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas

Ron Ruthven, Founder, R3F Consulting

Howard Slobodin, General Counsel and Secretary, Board of Directors, Trinity River Authority of Texas

Amy Stelter, Manager of Governmental Relations, Trinity River Authority of Texas

Sue Rosson Tejml, Mayor, Town of Copper Canyon

Becky Tucker, Vice President, Integrated Health Campuses for Texas Health Resources

Mitch Whitten, Vice President of Marketing and Communications, Fort Worth Convention and Visitors Bureau

Karen Zahaluk, Program Manager, Hope for the Brave

Recruitment is underway for Leadership North Texas Class 7. Since the program’s inception, nearly 200 leaders from across North Texas have participated, including a state representative, numerous mayors and city council members, city managers and economic development professionals, business leaders, higher education executives and nonprofit leaders.

Over a nine-month period, the class addresses and discusses topics such as the history of North Texas, regionalism, our economy, workforce and education, sustainable development, the impact of incarceration and a plan for civic engagement. They learn best practices in regional stewardship from experts and other regions, and explore how to collaborate to best address current regional issues.

The application deadline for Leadership North Texas Class 7 is noon, June 12, 2015. Applications are available online or through the North Texas Commission office at 972-621-0400. Tuition for the program is $3,000.